California DUI Consequences

831-783-0222

California DUI consequences can be very serious.  Here, Mr. Crawford explains the possible consequences of a first offense DUI conviction and some possible reduced charges, such as a "wet reckless" and "dry reckless."  There are others, including various infractions, and of course, dismissal or acquittal. For more information that applies to your charges please see the other subcategories under the DUI heading and then contact our office for a free consultation.

A DUI conviction is "priorable" for ten years.  That means that a second DUI conviction within ten years will result in substantially increased penalties.

DUI charges are sometimes reduced to either a "wet reckless" or a "dry reckless."  A wet reckless is essentially a reduced penalty DUI and is priorable for ten years.  A dry reckless is not a DUI and is therefore not priorable. That means that if you were to be arrested for DUI again in the next ten years, the new charge would be considered a first offense.

For first time offenders — the differences between a Wet Reckless, Dry Reckless and a First Offense DUI are listed below.

First Offense:

  • Priorable for ten years
  • Up to six months in county jail (most people will not go to jail and will only do a few days of community service in the Sheriff's Work Alternative Program)
  • 3 Month First Offender DUI School (two hours a week for three months)
  • 9 Month DUI School if the blood alcohol level is 0.20% or higher
  • Standard Fines (approximately $2000)
  • 5 years informal (non-reporting) probation
  • Driver's license suspension as a result of the court conviction
  • A second suspension if you lose your DMV hearing
  • Increased insurance rates
  • The court may order you to install an ignition interlock device (IID) for up to six months.

Wet Reckless

  • Priorable for ten years
  • Up to 90 days in county jail (most people will not do jail time or any community service) 
  • 12 hour wet reckless DUI School (not required in all cases)
  • Reduced fines (usually about $1000)
  • 3 years informal (non-reporting) probation
  • No license suspension as a result of the court conviction
  • 30 day no driving period and first offender DUI class if you lose your DMV hearing

Dry Reckless

  • Not a priorable offense
  • Up to 90 days in county jail (most people will not do jail time or any community service)
  • No DUI school as a result of the court case.
  • Greatly reduced fines (usually under $1000)
  • 1 to 3 years informal non-reporting court probation
  • No license suspension as a result of the court conviction
  • 30 day no driving period and 3-month DUI school only if you lose your DMV hearing

Top-Rated, Award-Winning Criminal Defense Attorneys


Call Now For Free Confidential Advice

The Crawford Law Firm, Inc. is committed to answering your questions about Criminal Defense law issues in Santa Cruz, Monterey, San Luis Obispo, and Santa Barbara counties.

We offer a free consultation and we'll gladly discuss your case with you at your convenience. Contact us today to schedule an appointment.

Menu